Place Mill is a heritage Mill, situated on the Quomps at Christchurch Quay.
Dating back to the 11th Century, the Mill showcases evidence of Saxon and Tudor brickwork, and inside offers visitors a chance to explore a replica of the historical tools and equipment of the mill. This includes the Great Spur Wheel which is driven by the waterwheel through a series of cogs, which turn the millstones on the first floor.
The Mill Stream branches from the River Avon almost a kilometre away at Brewhouse Hole. Place Mill was unique because it took power from one river and discharged it to another - the Stour. Both rivers are tidally affected and flood sometimes following heavy rain.
When the Mill was in production up until 1908, the miller would have ensured almost constant milling by using weirs up river to control the flow. Sadly, the building could not stand the vibration so now it is not possible to demonstrate it working fully.
Place Mill was bought by the Council in 1908 and was rented out as a boat shed. In 1980 it was taken back for restoration and to be made open to the public. It is now used for art exhibitions.
Place Mill is only open during the summer and opening times vary depending on the exhibitions on site. You can find the Mill at:
2 Quay Rd
Christchurch
Dorset
BH23 1BU